Shanghai goes lower carbon with a critical mass ride across the city

Posted on | 四月 21, 2011 | 3 Comments

4月16日上午9点15分,上海城市骑行:徐家汇公园——南外滩老码头

 

 

周六上午,300名自行车爱好者参与了GoodtoChina组织的首次城市骑行活动。为了更清新的空气,参与者们骑车穿越上海的大街小巷,,用环保骑行在开启了世界地球周。

 

周六的上海城市骑行从行动上响应了全球范围内倡导低碳出行的趋势。超过300名的自行车爱好者参与其中。他们中有关心环保的普通市民也有来自高校的学生自行车团体。为了更清新的空气和更美好的城市,他们聚集在一起通过本次的骑行来推动城市居民对世界地球周的认知体验,同时身体力行倡导每个人都为减低环境影响尽到一己之力。骑行上海是了解这座城市最酷的方式之一,但同时,它面临着来自客观条件的挑战:由于不够完善的基础设施和人们对自行车固有的“老土”、“陈旧”等负面印象,骑车对于中国大城市的年轻人不再具有吸引力。

 

上海政府一直致力于在城市内和城市间建设更加简单快捷和易于换成的公众交通网络,遗憾的是骑行似乎正在交通系统的建设中被渐渐遗忘。不断增长的机动车数量和乏善可陈的交通管理体系以及逐渐消失的自行车道让城市骑行变得更加艰难。加之由这些因素造成的城市交通污染,骑车更是变成了危险又于健康无益的交通体验。鼓舞人心的是,经过周六的城市骑行,我们深信,一切都可以得到改变。人们对骑车的热情在不断上升的同时,我们也看到了城市规划者的努力:相关部门正在规划一个更加环保低碳的交通系统,包括非机动车区域的增加和改善都将被考虑其中。对于城市中那些大量的短途骑行者——递送服务人员、自行车商务人士、还是骑车去上班、开会、购物、接送孩子的骑行者,甚至仅仅为了乐趣骑车的爱好者——上海的自行车道无疑需要对这些骑车人的健康和安全提供可靠的保障。

 

在2008年的调查中显示,54%的人纯粹为了体验乐趣而骑车,这也是目前人们骑行的最大原因之一。上海无疑应该加大力度满足这种需求。

 

对于在上海骑车的体验和感受,居民们如是说:

事实上,调查结果趋向于两个极端。一些人认为在上海骑车还是挺酷的。但相对来说,普遍的认知还是趋向于负面的。考虑到上海交通状况令人堪忧,人们担心骑车安全无法得到保障。汽车、摩托车和各种助动车的随意乱行导致自行车成为了公共交通大军中的弱势群体。除此之外,对健康的担忧也是人们不愿骑车出行的重要原因之一。哪怕自行车出行相对经济,糟糕的空气质量仍然让城市居民对骑车出行持观望态度。一位受访者提及:

 

“这就像是在打游戏啊,一片混战,命悬一线。”

 

我们同时还询问了骑车人对上海空气质量的看法,无疑,以骑车出行而言,其质量是不达标的。但是他们还是愿意选择这一交通工具因为他们认为总的来说,自行车依然不失为对身体对环境都有益的善举。

 

从受访者的回应中不难看出,上海的空气质量无法让人满意。很多人形容在上海呼吸无异于吸二手烟。这不仅是因为很多人在街道上吸烟所致,更主要的原因在于像吸烟会导致肺癌一样,糟糕的空气质量同样会带来严重的健康问题。

 

一些有趣的回答:

“(在上海骑车)就是自杀。每次我等红灯的时候就觉得我再这么杵在这里吸尾气就是自杀。于是我就想穿红灯了……”

“我鼻子(吸尾气)都吸出血了!”

“也没办法。大城市都这样。”

“(吸尾气)把肺都吸没了”

“死得快”

再来,我们询问了人们对骑车出行的要求。 安全和健康始终是压倒一切的首要考虑。

 

受访者不约而同地提到了自行车的安全问题,特别是在上海这样的城市,自行车锁是必须的。 考虑到安全和健康的因素,许多人提到骑车时需要佩戴头盔甚至口罩。

 

一些有趣的回答:

“无所畏惧”

 

 

那么,对于骑车出行,下一步我们能做些什么呢?

要推广发展骑车出行的文化,首当其冲的无疑是要得到更好的基础设施建设等硬件支持。

 

2009年,上海大约有1200万两自行车。超过70%的上海居民拥有一部自行车。在所有的出行方式中,将自行车作为交通工具的市民超过30%。多份建议书建议将自行车整合入城市交通系统中,硬件的优化和政策的完善让我们相信在上海,一个健康、安全、整合的骑行文化正指日可待。

 

参与本次骑行的团队有

People’s Bike

Greennovate

捷安特车队

上海工程技术大学车协

华东政法大学车协

东华大学车协

上海对外贸易学院车协

华东师范大学车协

上海交通大学车协

 

GoodtoChina

GoodtoChina 致力于通过向城市居民鼓励和推广简单又令人向往的可持续生活方式,让市民可以从中获益,从而加快整个中国迈向低碳社会和可持续生活的步伐。

 

01酷骑

01酷骑是GoodtoChina 在提倡可持续生活方式的4个倡议活动中的一个,通过鼓励人们骑车出行,促使城市居民重新认识自行车这样一种健康、无污染、实用又充满乐趣的交通工具,并促成自行车整合入城市交通系统。

Comments

3 Responses to “Shanghai goes lower carbon with a critical mass ride across the city”

  1. daigoume
    四月 23rd, 2011 @ %I:%M%p

    nice post. thanks.

  2. Earthweek In Shanghai Begins With A Critical Mass Ride – Urban Times - Optimistic Forward-Thinking
    七月 15th, 2011 @ %I:%M%p

    […] SHANGHAI GOES LOW CARBON WITH A CRITICAL MASS RIDE ACROSS THE CITY […]

  3. 3D Wallpaper
    一月 1st, 2015 @ %I:%M%p

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to grasp a lot about this, such as
    you wrolte the e book in it or something. I believe that
    you just could do with some % to pressure the message home a little bit, hokwever other
    than that, this is magnificent blog. A great read.
    I’ll definitely be back.

Shanghai goes lower carbon with a critical mass ride across the city

Posted on | April 21, 2011 | 3 Comments

Critical mass ride April 16th 9.15am xui jia hui park to cool docks, south bund.

Saturday saw some 300 riders take to the shanghai roads for the first Critical mass ride. Riders kick started earth week; riding for cleaner air in downtown shanghai.

 

 

The first critical mass ride on Saturday put shanghai on the map as a part of the global trend towards lower carbon transport society. Over 300 riders took part in the first critical mass ride. They came from downtown shanghai and from many of the top universities in shanghai. Everyone met to ride for clean air, to kick start an awareness of earth week and to do something for themselves and their city. Riding a bike in shanghai is a very cool way to get about downdown, yet for the majority it’s a challenge: as we see with many of the mega cities in china cycling has lost it’s appeal among the young due to low infrastructure support and poor perceptions associated with bikes.

 

While the Shanghai government continues to grow its mass urban transport systems providing easy, fast and connected public transport in and out of the city, cycling in the city seems to have fallen from the priority list. There are less and less connected bike pathways accompanied by a continual increase in cars and poor traffic management. This has resulted in making cycling hazardous and unhealthy from downtown traffic pollution. Yet from the turn out on Saturday to our critical mass ride and the energy associated with bike riding in the city, this could be all about to change. Cycling enthusiasm is on the rise and there is a hope that shanghai’s city planners will start to plan better for a sustainable and lower carbon transport system that includes cycling in the down town area. So, that for those numerous short rides around town, whether it’s a delivery service, a business on wheels, a ride to work, a meeting, picking up some small groceries, heading to a party, picking up your children from school or purely recreational, shanghai’s bike pathways need to keep their cyclists safe and healthy.

 

In 2008,the most popular reason for riding a bike in chinese cities, 54%, was for purely recreational reasons. Shanghai has to work hard to support this need.

 

 

Before our ride we asked shanghai residents about riding a bike in shanghaiHere’s what people told us.:

 

The answers to this question were divided into two extremes. A few people think that biking is Shanghai is cool. However, the general consensus about riding a bike in Shanghai seems to be a bit negative. Many people are concerned with safety when biking in Shanghai. They think it is not safe to ride a bike in Shanghai, because the roads are crowded but chaotic. The cars, motorcycles, and mopeds do not follow the traffic well, which leaves the people riding a bike very vulnerable. Also, in terms of health issues, people perceive that the air is not so clean, which make them think riding a bike in Shanghai might be economic but is definitely not a healthy option. One respondent told us that …

 

“It’s like playing a video game, waging a war, and risking one’s life”

 

We also asked riders about the air in shanghai, its clear that its not supportive to ride bikes, but people will do it anyway, because at the end of the day it should be a good thing both for their health and the health of the city…

 

According to the response, it is clear that people feel terrible about the air in Shanghai. Although people agree that the air in Shanghai is just as bad as that in other parts of China, people feel very uncomfortable breathing in Shanghai. Many people said breathing the air in Shanghai is like second-hand smoking, not just because so many people smoke on the streets, but also because it can cause serious health problems just as smoking is doomed to cause lung cancer.

 

Some interesting quotes:

“It’s suicidal. Every time I sat at the red light, I told myself that I was suicidal if I kept standing here and breathing.”

“My nose complains, and it bleeds!”

“We don’t have solutions. It’s normal to have bad air in big cities.”

“not having a lung” “way to die fast”

 

 

We also asked people what they need to ride a bike in the city. We found that safety and health were the overriding concerns

 

The majority told us that it is important to keep the bikes safe and people need locks to do so, especially in a city like Shanghai. Also, many people said they should wear a helmet, due to safety concerns, and facial masks, due to health concerns.

 

Some interesting quotes:

“No fear” “helmet & health insurance card”

 

 

So, what next for Bikes in Shanghai

Its clear we need better infrastructure to support a bike culture.

 

In Shanghai, 2009, there were about 12 million bikes. Over 70 percent of people living in Shanghai claimed to use a bike. The proportion of bikes as a method of transport was claimed to be over 30 percent among all means of transport. Several papers, including the later, have been written that have explored the integration of bikes into shanghai’s transport system – it seems as if there are various possibilities to support an integrated, safe and healthy biking culture in Shanghai.

 

On the ride we had the following teams:

People’s Bike

Greennovate

Giant bike club

Shanghai University of Engineering Science (SUES) bike club

East China University of Political Science and Law bike club

East China University bike club

Shanghai Institute of Finance and Trade bike club

East China Normal University bike club

Shanghai Jiaotong University bike club

 

Goodtochina

Good to shanghai’s goal is to make sustainable living accessible, beneficial and desirable to everyday Chinese urban residents and to accelerate the move towards lower carbon society and sustainable living.

 

01CoolBike is one of four initiatives from Goodtochina that gets us to re-think the beauty of the bike as a healthy, non-polluting, practical and desirable urban transport option that can be integral to a sustainable urban transport system

Comments

3 Responses to “Shanghai goes lower carbon with a critical mass ride across the city”

  1. daigoume
    April 23rd, 2011 @ %I:%M %p

    nice post. thanks.

  2. Earthweek In Shanghai Begins With A Critical Mass Ride – Urban Times - Optimistic Forward-Thinking
    July 15th, 2011 @ %I:%M %p

    […] SHANGHAI GOES LOW CARBON WITH A CRITICAL MASS RIDE ACROSS THE CITY […]

  3. 3D Wallpaper
    January 1st, 2015 @ %I:%M %p

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to grasp a lot about this, such as
    you wrolte the e book in it or something. I believe that
    you just could do with some % to pressure the message home a little bit, hokwever other
    than that, this is magnificent blog. A great read.
    I’ll definitely be back.